Rebel Alliance Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Dark side cookies

You know, the good guys have cookies too — and you’re probs less likely to choke from them!

May the Force be with you on this fourth of May! I can never turn down the chance to make themed desserts, and Star Wars has so many options for doing that. This Star Wars Day, I decided to try my oven at chocolate sugar cookies decorated with the Rebel Alliance logo. Sugar cookies are one of those desserts that can be as simple or complex as you want them to be. From the following photos, you’ll probably tell I’m no pro at this, but I always give it the tryhard try!

Alliance to Restore Freedom to the Galaxy and Deliver These Cookies to My Mouth

Alliance to Restore Freedom to the Galaxy and Deliver These Cookies to My Mouth

Even if the icing part of sugar cookies seems daunting, the dough is definitely easy! The hardest thing there is just waiting for it to chill in the fridge for a little bit. You can make rolling the dough out and cleaning up a lot easier by putting the dough between pieces of wax paper before rolling.

Looks really delicious right now, right..?

Looks really delicious right now, right..?

For these cookies I just used a simple circle (you could even use a drinking glass if you had to), but obviously this recipe will work with any cookie cutter you’d like to use! There’s some fun Star Wars cutters available different places online if you want to get fancy.

Try not to eat ALL the cookie cutter scraps!

Try not to eat ALL the cookie cutter scraps!

Icing

Actually making the icing is real simple too — I’ve never followed a recipe to the letter for icings or frostings. I just work with the ingredients until I get the right consistency, flavor, and color I want. Here I used Wilton Icing Color in Red-Red (whatever that means) because it’s concentrated and blends in a little better than regular food dye liquid, but you can definitely use whatever you have! You may just have to play around a bit by adding extra powdered sugar to make up for having more liquid. I just used maybe 4 toothpicks full of this Wilton color to get the red I needed.

True skill. I took art classes once, you know.

True skill. I took art classes once, you know.

Just please don’t call me Rebel Scum if my icing designs aren’t perfect! To make the icing part a little easier, I used Wilton squeeze bottles I had bought at Walmart, and I also did a little practice on some parchment paper beforehand (obviously this practice was not too extensive…)

My face when some of the icing dripped off the edge of the cookies. Not really. Don’t worry if the designs aren’t perfect. I can’t guarantee it, but I don’t think anyone will force choke you. They will still taste awesome, afterall! And if your hand gets tired, just switch to sprinkles instead. What Jedi would say no to sprinkles??

Add sprinkles when in doubt.

Add sprinkles when in doubt.

I made slight adaptations to SprinkleBakes‘ chocolate sugar cookie recipe, and referenced several icing recipes before just doing my own thang.

Rebel Alliance Iced Chocolate Sugar Cookies

SONY DSC SONY DSCCookies

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) softened (not melted) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Butter Vanilla Emulsion (or vanilla extract)
  • 2 cups plus 1 Tbsp. flour (I used AP)
  • 1 cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Dark)
  • Pinch salt (do we only say pinch because we’re too lazy to use the 1/8 tsp.?)
  1. In large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together without overmixing. We want it firm so it won’t spread too much in the oven.
  2. Mix the egg and vanilla emulsion/extract in on low speed.
  3. In a separate smaller bowl, whisk or sift together the flour, cocoa, and salt. Slowly add into the butter mixture. The dough will clump around the beaters or paddle. This is the right consistency!
  4. Place dough on one layer of wax paper and top with another. Flatten it out with hands and rolling pin. Place onto a parchment lined baking sheet and chill in the fridge for about an hour.
  5. Take the dough out and roll it a little thinner (about half an inch). Take of the top wax paper sheet. The dough should not be sticky.
  6. Cut out your shapes and carefully place them onto the parchment lined pan. Chill again for about half an hour.
  7. Bake the cookies at 350 F for about 9-11 minutes. Leave them to cool on the sheet about 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. Cool all the way before decorating.

Icing

  • 3-3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 6 tsp. milk (I used vanilla soy, but use any kind!)
  • 6 tsp. light corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Wilton Icing Color/ Food dye
  1. Place the milk in a small mixing bowl. Slowly add in the powdered sugar and combine with a fork, spoon, whisk, whatever you want. The mixture may be a bit lumpy.
  2. Add and mix in the corn syrup.
  3. Add the flavorings and desired colors.
  4. If mixture is too thin, add more powdered sugar. If it’s too thick, you can add more milk, corn syrup, and/or flavorings until it’s right.
  5. Place into a decorating bag with small round tip, snipped-corner plastic bag, or squeeze bottle to decorate the cookies. Leave to set a few hours before stacking/transporting.
In a time far far away, these cookies will finally be dry.

In a time far far away, these cookies will finally be dry.

Gather your galactic swag and enjoy!

Gather your galactic swag and enjoy!

When my car was broken down over Christmas, I asked my brother to buy me a new car. He bought me TWO new cars: the Star Wars HotWheels pictured above… Happy to have them for this picture though! Have a very happy Star Wars Day friends! May the Force be with you!

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, cookies, icing, star wars and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

