PB2 Banana Bars (vegan) with Chocolate Roses

As a 20 year-old lady, Mother’s Day is weird nowadays since I know people from my high school that are celebrating it for themselves! Today, I’m content to just celebrate my mom without being one myself quite yet!

SONY DSC

I’m trying to get fancy here. Is it working? 

My mom requested something simple that “wasn’t too heavy” for today, so I figured I would experiment and make a health(ier) dessert using whole wheat flour, banana, and PB2 instead of peanut butter. My mom is definitely not vegan (I’m already the odd one of the family by being a vegetarian), but my recipe did turn out that way!

SONY DSC

They look at least like something rose-adjacent, right? 

Of course, I can’t really do this “simple” thing, so I got the idea to make some chocolate clay and form some roses out of it to top the bars. I think they look alright, but I’m definitely not going into the chocolate sculpting business any time soon.

PB2 Banana Bars (Vegan)

The starring cast!

The starring cast!

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  •  1/4 cup milk (I used light vanilla soy)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used dark)
  • 6 Tbsp. PB2 (I used regular, but the chocolate kind would be awesome too!)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
  1. In a large mixing bowl, mash the banana well with a fork.
  2. Measure in the coconut oil, vanilla extract, brown sugar, and milk and whisk to combine.
  3. Slowly add in the other dry ingredients to the same bowl and continue to whisk together.
  4. Prepare an 8×8 pan by oiling, lining with parchment paper, and spraying again.
  5. Pour the batter evenly into the pan and bake at 350 F for 20-23 minutes.
  6. Let cool before slicing or shaping with a cookie cutter.

Chocolate Clay

SONY DSC

Dark chocolate ❤ Though, I used milk chocolate for my mom.

  • 10-11 oz. bag of chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • small amount powdered sugar for hands
  1. Melt chocolate in a medium bowl in 30-45 second intervals in the microwave.
  2. Stir in corn syrup well.
  3. Work in some powdered sugar if it still looks very shiny (I used about 1/4 cup here).
  4. Let sit in an airtight container at room temperature for a few hours or overnight before using. Chocolate clay should look more dry at this point.
  5. Dust hands with powdered sugar and knead before using.
  6. Roll out between parchment or wax paper to flatten.
SONY DSC

I’m really surprised that I didn’t make more of a mess. 

Just cut into 9 regular squares, each one has about 150 calories. I went a little more cutesy for Mother’s Day and used a frilly circle-looking cookie cutter to punch out pieces, and actually got 11 circles out (with scraps leftover for taste-testing). The recipe definitely turned out well for being so healthy! Of course I had to put chocolate on top too. Sorry mom — or, you’re welcome?

SONY DSC

Channeling banana flavors with this new yellow plate. 

To make the roses here, I used a tiny circle cookie cutter to punch out 2-3 clay pieces per flower. I twirled one piece at a time around a small pretzel rod “stem”, then placed the second around that layer. Then, I broke half of the pretzel off, and pushed the pretzel stem into the bar.

SONY DSC

I’m not a bad daughter, amiright? 

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Bars, Dessert, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PB2 Banana Bars (vegan) with Chocolate Roses

  1. Pingback: Mint Dark Chocolate Pudding | try.hard.kitchen

Leave a Reply

