Mounds Bar Chocolate Chip Cookies

All cookie and no school makes me a happy baker

Happy National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day! Yes that’s a thing, and it’s May 15th. Google it. I like any excuse to bake something up, so I’ll take it! It has to be the least divisive holiday out there, unless you’re fighting over the last cookie. ^Wendy Torrance clearly would like to keep that for herself, thank you very much Cookie Monster.

Attack of the Clone Cookies

Attack of the Clone Cookies

Luckily this recipe makes around 30- 40 cookies depending on how big you measure them, so at least you won’t be dueling for the final crumb for at least a little while! And they’ll even stay nice and soft if you somehow can’t finish consuming them in an evening or so.

Just beat it

Just beat it

Maybe it’s just because I read through a lot of baking blogs, but I feel like everyone has their go-to chocolate chip recipe already. And I was sure that just about everyone liked their cookies soft and moist. However, I had a bad encounter with someone’s homemade chocolate chip cookies recently. They were so dry, crisp, and flat that the chocolate chip flavor was lost to its sad cookie surrounding. It was a depressing experience. How can people live like that?! I was sure that that kind of cookie was viewed as objectively bad. Alas, the world is a mysterious place folks.

EAT ME

EAT ME

My go-to recipe uses pudding mix to help make the cookies soft, so I basically collect boxes of instant pudding in the pantry in order to be prepared at all times. I’ve had a box of Mounds pudding for a little while, so I wanted to use that for today’s special National Chocolate Chip Cookie day recipe!

Chip central up in here

Chip central up in here

We’re loading these suckers with shredded coconut, white chocolate chips, and my favorite, dark chocolate chips.

Here's the scoop

Here’s the scoop

I thought cookie scoops were a very frivolous purchase until I bought one on sale. I feel like my taste-testers can feel good about my hands being less all over their cookies. The little scoops also look pretty adorable…
…And only a baker would think cookie dough is cute.

Mounds Bar Chocolate Chip Cookies

Starring Cast

Starring Cast

  • 2 1/4 cup A.P. flour
  • Mounds Instant pudding (or instant chocolate pudding ~3.6 oz)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 11 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
  • 5 Tbsp coconut oil, melted or solid
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp coconut milk
  • 1 tsp extract (I used half coconut, half vanilla)
  • 1/2 cup sweet shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 cups chips (I used half dark and half white chocolates)
  1. In medium mixing bowl, whisk together flour, dry pudding mix, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter, coconut oil, and both sugars until fluffy. Add the egg and extracts and mix well.
  3. With the mixer on low, gradually add the flour mixture, then coconut, into the butter mixture. Then fold in the white and dark chocolate chips.
  4. Cover and chill the dough in the fridge long enough for it to be firm (~2-4 hours), but scoop-able to make dough balls. This is to prevent extra spreading in the oven. If dough is made ahead of time, or is too firm, just leave at room temp for a bit until it can be shaped into balls.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375 F and parchment paper 2- 3 baking sheets. Use a tablespoon or cookie scoop and place balls 1- 2 inches apart on sheets.
  6. Bake 8- 10 minutes. Cookies will still look slightly wet out of the oven and will continue to cook on the sheet for a few minutes before moving to a cooling rack. For nicer appearance, push extra chocolate chips into the cookies’ tops while still hot.
Step 6: Consume

Step 7: Consume

This recipe is awesome because you can really customize with different pudding mixes, extracts, and chips! (I usually use all butter — 1 cup). Once, I tried a strawberry pudding mix with white chocolate chips and that was definitely interesting. For a more standard chocolate chip recipe, I use a vanilla pudding mix.

Puddin' this in my mouth now

Puddin’ this in my mouth now

SONY DSC

Also showing off how I haven’t picked this nail polish off yet even though it’s been like a full 3 days

Happy National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day to all, and to all a good bite!

SONY DSC

Yessss that melty chocolate

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

