Cherry Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

SONY DSC

Completely literally, I popped a LOT of cherries yesterday. 

I would say I had an adventure de-pitting cherries yesterday, but it actually wasn’t as scary or exciting as I thought it would be, and didn’t take very long either. Which I guess is a pretty good thing! I don’t have a fancy cherry de-pitter, but I saw some ideas online for how to do it without one.

SONY DSC

I wonder how useful it would be to have frosting tips for fingers for the rest of my life. 

I used a small round frosting tip (Wilton #3, though you can probably use any small tip) and slipped it over my pointer finger. What happens, ideally, is that you poke the frosting tip through the top and the pit slides out the bottom or side of the cherry in a gentle manner, like so:

SONY DSC

Look at this cherry, behaving for the camera and all! 

The ideal way happened about half of the time. The other half of the time, I had to excavate a little for the pit with the frosting tip until my hands were covered in bloody-looking cherry juice. I don’t recommend wearing a white shirt while doing this… Overall though it was a pretty simple process! And it led to cookies, which is always a nice thing.

SONY DSC

~Part of this nutritious (…) breakfast~

If you don’t really want to deal with the bloody massacre of cherry de-pitting, I’m sure dried cherries would work great too! Cherries were on sale near me, and though I couldn’t really find any fresh cherry cookie recipes, I wanted to give it a go. They just seemed to belong in an oatmeal cookie with some nice dark chocolate! I used a recipe from Averie Cooks for her “Best Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies” as the base, and adapted it.

SONY DSC

The ratio for chocolate to anything should always be 2:1. Like, chocolate:cherries, or like chocolate:homework….

SONY DSC

Make sure you get little specs of chocolate and cherry peeking out on top so your cookies look beautiful!

SONY DSC

Precious. 

Cherry Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) softened unsalted butter
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 tsp. almond extract
  • 3 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 3/4 cups flour (I used about half white whole wheat, half AP)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 2 cups (12 oz bag) dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped fresh cherries (if using dried, decrease flour to 1 1/2 cups)
  1. Cream together butter and sugar about 3 minutes with mixer. Then mix in eggs and extracts.
  2. Add in the oats, flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and continue to mix on low speed until combined.
  3. With a spatula, fold in the chocolate chips and cherry pieces.
  4. Use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to form cookie dough balls on parchment-lined baking sheets. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for about 2 hours or more.
  5. Bake cookies at 350 F about 12 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets about 10 minutes before moving them.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Like I need a plate to tell me what to do! 

Now, it’s almost June, so it’s starting to get a little toasty out here in Arizona. It’s also a long weekend so you might be spending some time outside barbecuing and swimming (though I’ll just be inside studying for an exam and watching Game of Thrones…) So if you’d like to jazz up these cookies just a tad more in summertime fashion, make some whipped cream with almond extract, or whisk  1/4 tsp. almond extract into 2 cups Cool Whip, sandwich it between 2 cookies, and freeze!

SONY DSC

Just don’t break your jaw on frozen cookies or cherry pits. 

Whether you freeze em or not, have a cherry great weekend!

…That was really bad; I’m so sorry…

Have some cookies.

SONY DSC

Cookies are an acceptable form of apology, yes? 

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in cherry, Chocolate, cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

