Mint Dark Chocolate Pudding (made vegan, non-vegan options)

It's chocolate, it's peppermint, it's delicious!

It’s chocolate, it’s peppermint, it’s delicious!

Last week, we had some freakishly nice weather here in Arizona. Of course it couldn’t last. It’s about 102 out there now. We were filling my car’s tires up with air, and it was so hot that the air compressor hose melted, so there’s that… Clearly we’re in need of refreshment over here, so and I thought some cold chocolate peppermint pudding sounded awesome.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One pot, no problem.

Just like the PB2 Banana Bars I made for Mother’s Day, this pudding turned out to be vegan too just based on what I had in my kitchen! I don’t think I’ll give up eggs or ice cream or cheese anytime soon, but I cycle in some vegan substitutes in my groceries if they’re healthier than the regular option. Contrary to popular belief, one CAN run a baking blog and pay attention to their health too. 🙂 I just signed up for a 10K actually!

SONY DSC

Resist just eating it like cold chocolate soup!

This recipe (adapted from Hershey’s Kitchens) is awesome because you can whisk everything together just in one pot. The less time I have to immerse my hands in steamy hot water for dish duty, the better.

SONY DSC

I didn’t beat the level 😦

The good thing about having to whisk pudding over the stove for 15-20 minutes is that it gives you some quality Candy Crush time with your other hand. Just don’t drop your phone into the hot, bubbling chocolate abyss.

SONY DSC

If it were winter, this is the kind of jacuzzi I would want to be in.

It’s really important to use low heat (on a stove scale from 1-10, I used about a 4). You’ll think you can speed it up by making it boil faster, but then it won’t thicken up. I mean, you’ll still have a delicious chocolate mint soup, but it won’t be pudding. That’s why I suggest the Candy Crush method, or just old fashioned patience I guess.

SONY DSC

Soon…

This recipe filled about two 8 oz mason jars. You could also fill about four little custard cups with it. I would definitely double triple it next time!

SONY DSC

Never enough pudding

Mint Dark Chocolate Pudding (vegan)

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 3 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/4 cups milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut oil (you could use butter if not vegan)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp. mint extract (or to taste)
  • optional: toppings such as broken candy cane, chocolate chips, whipped cream, etc
  1. In a medium pot, whisk together sugar, corn starch, cocoa powder and salt. Eliminate any cocoa powder lumps as best as possible.
  2. Whisk in the milk.
  3. Over low-medium heat, whisk the pudding mixture about 15 to 20 minutes. Do not use higher heat, or the mixture will not thicken.
  4. After the mixture starts to thicken, it should boil. Continue to whisk over the stove for about 2 minutes after boiling begins.
  5. Remove pudding from heat and stir in the extracts and coconut oil (or butter).
  6. Pour into the serving cups or containers for storing and press plastic wrap or the lid tightly over each. Refrigerate about 2 hours.
  7. Add optional toppings before enjoying.
SONY DSC

Chocolate peppermint forever ❤

I still had some crushed candy cane that I bought after Christmas for 50% off, so I thought I’d make it extra minty and refreshing! Regular or mint whipped cream sounds good too… I’m also wondering if I can turn this into some kind of frozen pudding pie or pudding pops in the future. What can I say, I dream big, people!

SONY DSC

Speaking of Candy Crush, here’s some crushed candy.

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Mint, Pudding, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mint Dark Chocolate Pudding (made vegan, non-vegan options)

  1. Seri Roth says:

    I am sending your blog link out to all my vegan friends!! You have such great recipes! I would love for you to stop by my “recipe” section. – Seri from http://www.Serisblog.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

