Chewy Cinnamon Chocolate Layer Bars

SONY DSC

Powdered sugar improves everything! 

I’ve been on hiatus for a few weeks, but I’m back! My two summer classes were really kicking my butt (don’t worry though — I got the grades I wanted), and I went from studying biochemistry structures and reactions and cellular components to packing up all my belongings for a move. I have a LOT of stuff. Especially kitchen things and clothes. What a girl, amiright? Anyway, since everything has pretty much settled into its place in my new place, I figured it was time to whip that oven into shape and bake something for my new roomie and my number 1 taste-tester — my boyfriend.

SONY DSC

Dat damask.

While Boyfriend was finishing up at work, I set to work on these so the apartment would smell amazing. I was thinking about how realtors have cookies fresh out of the oven for open houses to help sell, and how furniture stores broil cinnamon in the oven to do kinda the same thing. So I figured I’d combine the two! The recipe is based on one of his family’s!

Chewy Cinnamon Chocolate Layer Bars 

Crust:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened but still cold
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Mix together the brown sugar and flour. Then cut in the butter and work it in with two forks or your hands until the mixture has a consistency like pie crust. Press it evenly into the pan.
  3. Bake the crust by itself until slightly browned, about 10 minutes. While this is baking, mix the batter:
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 beaten large eggs
  • 1 cup chocolate chips + 1 cup cinnamon chips
  1. Mix all batter ingredients together with a spoon, stirring in the chocolate and cinnamon chips last. (To make regular chewy chocolate layer bars, use just 2 cups chocolate chips and omit the cinnamon in the crust).
  2. Pour the batter mixture over the baked bottom crust and lightly smooth it so that it is even.
  3. Return the pan to the oven and bake for 20- 25 minutes.
  4. Once the bars have cooled, sprinkle with powdered sugar.

SONY DSC

When you first pour the batter over the crust, it’s going to look a little interesting FYI. Don’t panic — the batter will form a flaky crust over the melty chewy caramely cinnamon chocolate layer. It will be awesome.

SONY DSC

The powdered sugar layer hides any imperfections. 

SONY DSC

Dessert for two~

So this is what Boyfriend came home to the other day. If I could add a third major to my college education, I would add housewifery. I think I’d be good at it somehow.

Oh and speaking of my majors, happy Bastille Day to any Francophones or Francophiles out there! One day I will master the macaron or pain au chocolat for you all!

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Bars, Chocolate, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

