Peppermint Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

SONY DSC

Is it cookie? Is it cake? #identitycrisis

My 2nd favorite person celebrated his birthday yesterday! It might seem harsh that I call my boyfriend my 2nd favorite person, but we’ve actually mutually agreed to be our own favorite people. You gotta watch out for yourself too, you know! But anyway, being a baker, it’s to be expected that the special people in my life will be getting treats for their birthdays. He didn’t give me a specific kind of dessert to make, so I found a compromise with this cookie cake based off of a recipe from Life, Love, & Sugar.

SONY DSC

New/old stand mixer! 

Since my last post, I’ve become the proud owner of a KitchenAid stand mixer! I’ve always felt that I can create all kinds of foods with just a hand mixer or just a spoon and a good arm workout, and that people don’t have to spend a lot of money on equipment to cook amazing foods. However, this stand mixer is actually really special because it belonged to my grandma, who passed away about 10 years ago. Just a few weeks ago, my grandpa passed this along to me. I’ve been using it a lot, but I’m still adjusting to having less work for my hands to do! I was/am really skilled at multitasking with a handmixer; I felt like I had about 4 hands just by how much I could do at once! Now, I feel a bit like Marshall from HIMYM or Ricky Bobby:

Can’t really complain about having my hands free though!

Free to sneak some frosting!

Free to sneak some frosting!

My boyfriend is really great at finding free food. It’s a serious skill. A sport, even. For birthdays, it’s his tradition, and now ours, to go around to places that have free deals for people on their birthday. So yesterday, though we started off with a special crêpes breakfast at home (I’ll be posting that recipe soon too!), we then went on our route to Krispy Kreme, gelato, Firehouse Subs, and some other local restaurants. It was quite the busy day, ending with this dessert later last night.

SONY DSC

Peppermint Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Cookie Cake (2 9-inch layers)

  • 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter at room temp
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs at room temp
  • 3 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • 4 cups flour
  • 4 tsp. cornstarch
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup mint chips (I used Andes peppermint crunch)
  1. Cream butter and both sugars together about 3 minutes until fluffy.
  2. Add in the extracts and eggs and continue mixing.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients (except chips). With the mixer at a lower speed, slowly add the dry mix to the wet ingredients until all incorporated.
  4. Mix in the chips by hand with a spoon or spatula.
  5. Spray or butter 2 8- or 9-inch cake pans. Place parchment paper in them for extra protection from sticking. (Instead of parchment, I use one paper wrapper from the butter sticks in the bottom of each cake pan.)
  6. Divide the dough between the 2 pans and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  7. Bake the cookie cake for about 20 minutes at 350 F. The edges should be slightly brown, and you can test the middle with a toothpick.
  8. Cool the cookie cakes in the pan before removing to a plate or cooling rack to decorate or consume.

Mint Chocolate Buttercream

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, soft but still slightly cool
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use butter-flavored)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • pinch salt
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1- 2 Tbsp. milk or cream
  1. Before starting, put the mixing bowl in the fridge until cool, especially if your kitchen is quite warm. This will help the frosting to hold together better.
  2. Beat the butter and shortening together about 3 minutes until fluffy.
  3. Add in the cocoa powder and pinch salt and mix until combined.
  4. Slowly add and mix in the powdered sugar at about 1/2 cup at a time. More can always be added for a stiffer, sweeter result.
  5. Mix in the extracts and 1 Tbsp. milk. More can be added if frosting is too thick.
  6. Taste and feel the consistency of the frosting and add either more milk or more powdered sugar if necessary.
  7. Decorate the cookie cakes when completely cool. Add sprinkles or extra chips to the center of the cakes if wanted.

SONY DSC

It might depend on your climate or oven, but my cookie cakes rose along the edges. To make it easier to decorate, I used a sharp paring knife to slice that risen edge off (and saved the cookie bits for my boyfriend to snack on!).

SONY DSC

Enjoy the recipe! Tonight we are continuing the celebrations by going to a 1920s murder mystery dinner theatre event! Wish us luck — I sure hope we aren’t the prime suspects 😉

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

