Cannoli Crêpes

Crêpes are one of those fancy foods that seem so much harder than they actually are to make. The first time I made them was with my brother back when he was in college and I was either in junior high or high school. Over his breaks when he’d be home, we would sometimes stay up really late and bake things together and have to go to Walmart at midnight for a bag of chocolate chips. One time, we Googled how to make crêpes and went out for a jar of Nutella to fill them with.

SONY DSC

I made these crêpes for my boyfriend’s birthday breakfast. Originally they were just going to have banana slices in them (which I still stuck in there as you might see in that picture), but then I got creative and I got the idea to mix up some cannoli-ish filling for them since I had ricotta cheese on hand. My ancestors come from all over Europe, and one of those places is Italy. I express my Italian descent by my deep appreciation for ricotta cheese and my desire, nay, need to feed everyone that comes to my house. Or maybe that’s the hospitable Polish person in me…

SONY DSC

Crêpes are only less convenient than pancakes because you can’t make them on a griddle. But I think they are definitely worth it every once in a while! This recipe makes about 20 5-inch crêpes, or less if you use a larger round pan. If you have leftovers or if you’re making them ahead, stack them with waxed paper or plastic wrap in between the crêpes and either freeze or refrigerate them for smaller times. They are best reheated in the skillet with some oil or butter again, but you can microwave for a short time if you must.

SONY DSC

He was turning 21, so he used my French plate with the wines on it. 🙂 

SONY DSC

Chocolate was definitely going to be involved for my boyfriend, and that worked perfectly for cannolis. 

Cannoli Crêpes

Crêpes

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter or neutral oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  1. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add in the milk, melted and cooled butter, vanilla, and eggs. Use a whisk to combine and beat until all smooth.
  2. Butter or spray a small round pan with oil and heat to medium heat. Reapply butter or oil between crêpes as needed.
  3. For each crêpe, add a little less than 1/4 cup of batter into the pan. Immediately tilt and turn the pan so the batter spreads in a thin layer around the whole bottom of the pan. Cook for 30- 60 seconds, until bubbling, then flip the crêpe.

Cannoli Filling

  • 1 cup skim or whole ricotta
  • 2 Tbsp. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. mini semisweet chocolate chips
  • melted chocolate and/or fruit for extra toppings
  1. Combine first 3 ingredients together in a small bowl and mix well with a fork. Then stir in chocolate chips.
  2. Add 1- 2 Tbsp. of the filling to each crêpe.
  3. Add fruit fillings, such as strawberries or bananas, if desired. You may also drizzle rolled crêpes with melted chocolate or top with powdered sugar.

SONY DSC

About Jenni @ TryHardKitchen

College. Homework. Baking. LoL.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chocolate, Crêpes, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

